"The Soul of Bobby" is an extremely rare vinyl record of the year 1973. The movie "BOBBY" was released under the banner of R.K. Films and the movie was a grand success at the box office that took the nation by storm. One of a kind, teenage love story with the audience-shocking skimpy outfits of Dimple Kapadia and a boyish faced Rishi Kapoor. An absolute unique presentation from the house of Raj Kapoor. His passion for his films, his film's music and everything related can be minutely seen in this movie.
The music composers Laxmikant-Pyarelal did a wonderful job by fusing world music into the Indianized genre. The proof is the movie soundtrack.
The most interesting part; the movie's background score. The music composer duo Laxmikant-Pyarelal did an exceptionally wonderful job on the movie's background score. Raj Kapoor was such a great connoisseur of music that he decided to release a whole separate record that carried only the background score. This idea was materialized into "THE SOUL OF BOBBY".


Only limited copies of this record were pressed making it a real rare find. The ones who spent those extra few bucks buying it are truly delirious today. I was lucky enough to find a copy for myself which I ripped, re-mastered and cleaned sonically for the listening pleasure of everybody. I also made a little YouTube montage just to give a little glimpse of the beauty of this music which you can find posted below. Indeed a great piece of art ! Try to get your hands on this one, you will never part with it. Enjoy some great music from the house of Raj Kapoor.


8/10/2008 11:26:48 pm

I'm listening to the excerpts from Soul of Bobby posted @ Eadtern Eye and I'm curious about the Whole LP
If you want to share

Reply
8/11/2008 12:58:13 am

Hey there!
Sure I would love to share this wonderful music. Just let me know your email address and I will mail you the download link.
Thanks for visiting!
Goodbye!

Reply
raf
2/20/2022 07:12:01 pm

Hi, this is a long shot... can you still share the link to this album?

Thanks! Raf

Reply
8/29/2008 10:18:13 pm

I did have two LPs The soul of bobby and Mera Naam Joker(Background score) but they went out of shape over the years and also broke because of carelees handling by people who had no taste. SO please could you tell me how i could get the score in full for downloading? It was also typical of raj that LP also were made to use the fav thme of Raj from Barsat days the Danube waves waltz...in Bobby also and made S&J also use it as a concluding accodian passage in hardil jo pyar karega in sangam

Reply
9/7/2008 07:51:20 am

Hi there!
If you want, I have "THE SOUL OF BOBBY" and then the MNJ background score both.
Leave a reply here along with your email address if you still need it and I will send you the links.
Bye!

Harshi

Reply
kasi rajan
6/27/2013 03:23:00 am

can you please share with me the links for soul of bobby my email id is [email protected]

Reply
9/7/2008 09:33:35 am

Alright !
Here is the link to the "Mera Naam Joker" instrumental version. Have fun!

Link ~ http://www.mediafire.com/?zmkie2nitmb

Reply
JB
9/8/2008 05:03:09 pm

I'd love a rip if your offer's still good. The record sounds fantastic, and I'm having a difficult time tracking it down.
Thanks.

Reply
9/10/2008 04:42:57 am

Ok sure....leave me your email address and I will send you the download link. I cannot post the link here. People are crazy and they misuse it. Goodbye!

Harshi

Reply
Tanu
9/13/2008 04:36:54 am

So I never you knew you had a blog until now ! Good stuff, you write really well!

Reply
Avi
9/15/2008 02:10:30 pm

Great Find!
Could you please send me a download link?!
Thanks

Reply
9/17/2008 04:50:38 am

Like I said....leave thy email...

Reply
Avi
9/17/2008 03:34:21 pm
Reply
Scott
10/5/2008 12:39:50 pm

Would you mind sending me the download link to Soul of Bobby? ([email protected])

Thanks in advance!

Scott

Reply
Scott B
11/24/2008 07:25:31 pm

Wow ! Finally found out where i might be able to get a copy of this wonderful soundtrack !

can you please email me the link !!

thanks heaps !

Scott

Reply
Madhu
3/6/2009 04:47:01 am

harshi
i am Raj Kapoor fan, is it possible to send information regarding background score of mera naam joker?
that was the movie when i was teen ager. excellent movie.
i thank you
madhu

Reply
Harshi
3/6/2009 12:00:25 pm

Hi there!

I do have the entire background score of Mera Naam Joker as well as Bobby.
I am going to email you the songs soon.
:)

Harshi

Reply
Mister Naidu
3/14/2009 09:33:00 am

Greetings Harshi!

I'm a big fan of bollywood vinyl and Raj Kapoor films. I would appreciate it greatly for the links to Soul of Bobby and Mera Naam Joker. Many thanks for your generous offer.

Naidu

Reply
Anirban Mitra
3/15/2009 04:02:07 am

Hi Everyone,

I just discovered this page and the fact that such a Bobby LP exists ! I am a great fan of RK & SJ and have almost all LPs of SJ's hit movies -around 75. And all RK SJ LPs...I think except this one. Kindly send me the download link of the MNJ & Bobby LPs. I have the MNJ LP...but no way to convert it to digital format. Thanks for this posting and thanks in advance for the download links!

regards,
Anirban

[email protected]

Reply
Harshi
3/15/2009 07:55:45 am

Hi friends ! Sorry for not putting up the "Mera Naam Joker" instrumental here.
Here is the link.

MNJ- http://www.mediafire.com/?zmkie2nitmb

To get "The Soul of Bobby", leave your email address here and I shall send you the link.

Harshi :)

Reply
Mister Naidu
3/15/2009 04:08:03 pm

Hello Harshi,

I forgot to give my email address before. Send link for Soul of Bobby to [email protected]

Many, many thanks.

Naidu

Reply
Doubting Thomas
3/18/2009 01:11:59 am

has anyone received soul of bobby?...odd that no one has acknowledged getting link, commented on the music or given thanks afterward for getting it. hmmm...

D.T.

Reply
3/18/2009 06:13:44 am

Aha! What a wonderful observation Mr Doubting Thomas :)

People are like that yknow :) Lets see, the perfect word to describe that would be "ingratitude" but hey, I don't mind. I would never put up this post in the first place.

I could put up the link here but then people loose the value of the stuff. This record is more than super rare and I want it to go to only those who actually care and crave. Getting my point? Alrighty ! Have fun :)

Harshi aka "Confident Harry" ;-)

Reply
Mister Naidu
3/18/2009 10:36:43 am

Thank You Harshi,

I, for one, ain't too proud to give you major props for sharing this beyond rare album. It certainly has lived up to and surpassed my expectations. Great stuff. Your act of generosity is what the internet should be about. Hope to someday return the favor :)

Warm regards,
Naidu

Reply
3/18/2009 03:19:40 pm

Hi Mr. Naidu !

I am glad I could share this ultra rare piece of music. I think Music should be shared and people should be enlightened. Today when music is majorly commercialized, people do not even care to listen to the wonderful stuff created 30 years ago. Today, people listen to remixes which is simply more than horrible ! I call it raping music.

What the maestros created several decades ago combining blood and sweat in those studios is very conveniently "re-produced", "re-made" or "Re-Mixed". Shame on these buggers !
I am glad you still value such music. I will keep sharing with connoisseurs like yourself.
Goodbye!

Harshi

Reply
MADHU
4/8/2009 05:36:59 am

mr harshi
you did send me bobby link, but i don't know how to download. also can you please send me mera naam joker background socre. i thank you in advance.
madhu

Reply
Eva
6/24/2009 06:05:28 am

Can you send me a link to the Bobby lp?

Reply
nasir j shah saheb.
7/25/2009 01:14:16 am

kindly send me linl to download the soul of bobby
thanks in advance

Reply
Babu
7/31/2009 01:22:21 am

Can you please send me the link for "Soul of Bobby". Thanks in advance.

Regds / Babu

Reply
8/3/2009 01:06:36 am

Hello harshi,
you are fortunate to be the proud owner of 'soul of bobby'.I have been looking for information about the LP for quite sometime.Enjoyed the montage.Would be grateful,if the links for downloading soul for bobby sent over [email protected].

Reply
SD
9/2/2009 09:22:02 pm

Hello Harshi!

Have heard about this rare LP - "the soul of bobby" - instrumental lp by laxmi-pyare for Bobby. Its yours fine gesture that you are sharing this with us. Now-a-days I love to listen to original instrumental pieces from Hindi Films esp. music composed by RD Burman.

I'm very much eager to listen to this album. Would you be kind enough to send me the download link to my email id.

Reply
9/3/2009 06:57:08 am

Hey guys !

I hope I sent out the links to most of you out there who posted their email addresses.
If there is anyone who did not receive the link, please remind me. Thanks !

Harshi

Reply
Invsblrbtfsh
9/11/2009 08:51:44 am

Hi Harshi!

Could you send me the link for the Soul of Bobby LP? I would be forever grateful! Can't wait to hear it! Thanks!

[email protected]

- Josh

Reply
THC1138
9/30/2009 07:24:10 am

Hey Harshi, thanks for the samples. Can you send me the full file for Soul of Bobby at cthulufunk(at)gmail.com?

Let me know if there's anything you're looking for, I've got tons of Indian musical OSTs.

Regards

Reply
Six
10/16/2009 10:41:51 am

Could you please send me a link for the Soul Of Bobby record?

[email protected]

Thanks a lot!

Reply
eric
10/18/2009 12:28:07 pm

greetings harshi!
i would also appreciate a link to the 'soul of bobby' album!
fiveleavesleft[at]hotmail[dot]com

Reply
11/9/2009 07:08:47 am

Hey guys ! Expect the link by the end of this week.
Goodbye :)

Harshi

Reply
Nitin
11/15/2009 07:00:02 pm

Hello Harshi,

I am great fan of LP & SJ, can i please have link to 'The soul of Bobby' and 'Mera Naam Joker Ins.'

Thank you, hopefully i can return the favour one day.

[email protected]

Reply
sk dey
12/2/2009 04:08:14 pm

Reply
Six
12/9/2009 12:34:22 am

Hey Harshi,

I did not receive the link of Soul of Bobby. Could you please send to me?

[email protected]

THANK YOU!

Reply
12/18/2009 12:43:10 pm

Hi Harshi!
Would love to have the Soul of Bobby... my mail id is [email protected]!

Reply
AOP
2/6/2010 07:07:53 pm

Hello Harshi

I've been searching for this for quite some time and would appreciate hearing it in full.

[email protected]

Thanks!

Reply
AOP
2/8/2010 09:50:05 am

Just wanted to drop a quick "thanks!" on the original posting here. This is truly an incredible album. Side 2 in particular is on some next level ish. Absolutely stunning!

I only wish more Bollywood films of this era had full albums available of the instrumental score.

Reply
jay
2/12/2010 02:03:01 am

pl send the link at [email protected]
thanks in advance !

Reply
Bala K.
2/21/2010 07:05:35 pm

Dear Harshi,

Please send me the link as it is so rare, can't be found now a days.
e-mail id: [email protected]

thanks in advance.

Bala

Reply
nimish
2/25/2010 01:36:10 am

m a huge fan of th rk films background score..plzz send me da link for the soul of bobby..actually der is dis one piece of music which was born in sangam after da song har dil.. dat was repeated in many rk films..m keen to have that..plz send da link- [email protected]

Reply
rahul
3/7/2010 04:07:42 pm

Dear Harshi! I am not someone who understands very fine nuances of music like some of you guys. But going through some of the blogs including yours, the manner in which you represent, it has got me quite interested. Really looking forward to full album of THE SOUL OF BOBBY & MERA NAAM JOKER INSTRUMENTAL. Hoping you will not disappoint me & keep doing the selfless service you have been doing all these years.

mail id : [email protected]

Thanks & regards.

Reply
3/7/2010 04:11:27 pm

Hey Rahul

Glad to know about your rising interest in all this type of music. Just sent you the link to "TSOB". Take a listen and tell me what you think about it. Goodbye.

Harshi

Reply
rahul
3/7/2010 08:18:08 pm

Thank You very much Harshi for such a quick response. Didn't expect such fast reply & that too from a blog which is not updated on very regular basis (as the content is rare).

Just loving it. Was totally unaware of such rare gems in Bollywood. Hoping to see more nice & rare uploads from you & no doubt my expectations have got real high.

Thanks again for everything. God Bless You.

Reply
3/8/2010 07:09:32 am

Hey Rahul

No problem. I update this blog as and when I find time from the crazy schedule of college and work.
Thanks for looking and keep checking for more rarities. I am glad you liked the music. Take care.

Harshi

Reply
Ankita
3/12/2010 03:46:24 am

Hello Harshi,,
May I too request a link to TSOB, whenever you get the time?
The email is: [email protected]
Thanks a million.

Reply
Saurabh Marwaha
4/2/2010 12:22:56 am

Hi Harshi,

Do you have Background Music of MNJ which was released by HMV seperately but was abondanded as the movie flopped.

If you do then please send it to
[email protected]

Reply
Shreesh
4/7/2010 06:34:06 pm

hey harshad.. this is quite a collection..could you plz mail me the dload link too. Although iam not THAT too much into music but i do have appreciation for some good and rare stuff.

Reply
P Singh
4/19/2010 11:48:51 pm

Wow Harshi could I persuade you to send me a link for this album please have heard so much about it
Thank you in advance

Reply
Ranjit Dhaliwal
5/14/2010 01:15:00 am

Hello, I've been looking for The Soul of Bobby for ages can you send me a link please?
You will have my eternal gratitude if you also have a link to the OST as my Dad won't part with his original LP! [email protected]

Reply
Tom Bassman
5/26/2010 11:10:50 pm

Hi Harshi, I've recently got into this music and from what I can gather, Soul of Bobby is the rarest, most sought after (and from the excerpts I've heard, most beautiful-sounding)record of them all,

please.....

[email protected]

thanks mate

Reply
Edson
5/29/2010 12:42:14 pm

Hi Harshi,

I have the Bobby OST and I'd really love to listen to both 'The soul of Bobby' and 'Mera Naam Joker' instrumentals.
So, can you send me the link to download them, please?
Your generosity is highly appreciated.

My email address is [email protected]

All the best,

Edson, from Brazil

Reply
cacapo
6/22/2010 02:21:24 pm

Hi,

I would also appreciate a link to said download very much. I am from germany and good bollywood scores are scarce around these parts.

Cheers vincent

Reply
cacapo
6/22/2010 02:22:10 pm
Reply
Niklas Karlsson
7/6/2010 06:23:43 am

Please send me a download link as well.

Very friendly,
Niklas

Reply
KM
7/12/2010 03:16:26 am

Send me the link please....
Link of the instrumental 'the soul of bobby'//

thx

Reply
T. S. Gopal
9/10/2010 08:10:23 pm

Friend
can you give me the link to down load the rare background score of mera naam joker and soul of bobby.
Thanks a lot

Reply
Scott White
10/3/2010 12:06:18 pm

Hi.

I would also like the link to "The Soul of Bobby". Thanks in advance!

- Scott
wswhite (at) bresnan (dot) net

Reply
Joy Anand
3/26/2011 06:52:28 pm

Dear Sir,

I am a huge LP fan and love the music of Bobby. I would love to get this link if you are still sharing.

Thank you very much in advance.

email is [email protected]

Reply
Harshi
5/8/2011 03:56:07 am

Thanks to my friend PC (Third Floor Music blog)for this upload.
His link is higher quality.


http://lix.in/-8f305f

Reply
Sam
6/14/2011 07:45:08 pm

Hi Harshi,

Would love to have link of background music score of "Mera Naam Joker" which you were sharing in past.

Can you please help email me the link from where I can download ??

Thanks a ton for your help.

Reply
Sam
6/20/2011 09:47:07 pm

Hi Harshi,

With refernece to my earlier request few days back, pl send me link to download background score of Mera Naam Joker. I am NOT looking for song's intrumental versions, but actual background score (like Soul of bobby). You can mail me on [email protected]

Thanks a lot.

Reply



Leave a Reply.