Music is my greatest passion. I can say it is my religion. It all started when I was just born. As an infant I used to listen to ghazals and go to sleep. When I was 2 years old, I listened to music on my Dad's Gramophone Record player. In the age of Cassettes and CDs too I had a strong love for the Long Playing records. My father's collection, an ecstacy.......consisted of everything right from The Beatles to CERRONE and of course Indian Film Music and Classical Music. Those were the early times and in such ways, I went on going deeper into listening until the summer of 1994. when I was sent to a piano class for better utilization of my vacation which I was otherwise wasting in unfruitful activities. There......it all began. My new found love - The Piano! I was at a supersonic pace and my fingers commanded those keys in black & white making the piano sing. From that moment, there was no looking back. I took up to the guitar at the dawn of my teenage. Without any formal coaching, I mastered it. It was then the Fall of the year 2003, I decided to form a band. My search for the band mates began and ultimately resulted in the birth of my band "NECROPOLIS" - a Classic Rock Connoisseur. The 3 guitarists I found were amazingly brilliant and I was definitely not as good as they were and hence I decided to take up the DRUMS. Yes!  A brand new beginning. A new kit was bought and I began practicing from scratch without knowing ABCs of Drumming. But I had this strong interest, deep passion and burning desire to perform and let the world experience blissful music. I began working hard non-stop for the next 4 months and then....January 17th 2004, the band's first concert at one of the Big events in the city. Nervous mind, trembling hands and itching desires........the SHOW WAS A HUGE SUCCESS! No looking back from that moment on. August 2004, we were on MTV CAMPUS IDOLS ( competition) and emerged as the winners in the third place. Hearts filled with pride and satisfaction.....It felt so good!
That is the story with me and music.
I listen to entirely different melodies from what the common crowds listen to. I absolutely loathe Rap music and Remixes. They have no ART.
I listen to everything from Classical to Rock and from Raaga to Reggae. But it is all standard music.
I would be writing more about my musical journeys. Stay tuned!





Leave a Reply.