This is about my new found love. EUROPEAN DISCO MUSIC!

Disco emerged from Jazz music in the early 1970s and to be more precise, the year 1974. The early artists who had a Disco sound were Issac Hayes and James Brown. From there, DISCO went on to be one of the greatest genres to be known to the art of Music. In the year 1977 the sensational SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER movie captured all hearts and made the world boogie and grease up the dancefloors to the grooves of Disco Music. Not to forget, the 17 track soundtrack which was composed of great songs such as STAYIN ALIVE' , NIGHT FEVER and MORE THAN A WOMAN were the brainchild of the great BEE GEES. Other artists included the KC & THE SUNSHINE BAND, YVONNE ELLIMAN and KOOL & THE GANG. Disco evolved in the USA but the effects were seen all around the world. A new type of genre emerged in the EUROPE, France to be more specific, known as EURO-DISCO. Such type of music was experienced for the first time by mankind. There was really some music now to which one could dance to with freestyle steps. That is DISCO!

Now, DISCO & ME. It all started with the record SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER which my brother gave me to listen to. I fell in love with those lovely songs and then I never returned the record. Recently, I remembered that I had a LP record in my father's collection from an artist called CERRONE. I went on searching for his songs and what happened next is a beautiful history.  I fell in love with DISCO MUSIC and my search for more artists and songs grew extensive.  I then discovered ALEC COSTANDINOS, one of the greatest artists in the world of music. Imagine what happens when a person with music in the blood and genes, learns music at a professionals school and sets his career to create something that the world is most demanding for. That is exactly what happened in the case of Alec. He started his career in Paris with a group of singers called LOVE & KISSES, SPHINX, PARIS CONNECTION and SUMERIA. His songs spent weeks on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 in the late 1970s. Alec stopped producing records after the year 1981 ever since Disco died but ,thank God we have his legacy to ponder.
Even today, I keep hunting for more rare disco grooves and enjoy playing them in the car, computer and my ipod. Lord Keep The Disco Alive! =)
Enjoy the track I posted below.

Some cool link to check out:~ www.SuperSeventies.com
                                           www.DiscoMuseum.com
                                           www.Warr.org
My Online Music Folder:~  http://www.esnips.com/web/virginharrysOtherStuff





Leave a Reply.